Parent first, coach second.

By Lindsey Grundfast, Head Coach, Muskingum University @muskingum_wlax

As we wrap up the 2023-2024 school year, I wanted to reflect on my first year as a coach and a parent.

I have had a lot of people in my life who have supported and guided me over the past academic year. My wife has been incredible about the weekends, long days, recruiting trips, and overnights. She never shies away from a Cricut project for the team or from making the team dinner, even while juggling a full-time job and motherhood. She’s really the one keeping the ship sailing.

My assistant, Ashli, took on more responsibilities and would often reassure me when I needed it!

My mom left her wife and home for four months so we could have an extra set of hands. I’m not sure who enjoyed the spring semester more, Ari or his Grammy.

My coworkers have been incredible, from setting up meals to watching Ari while I’m at practice, giving me mom advice, and so much in between. I have an awesome group of friends in and out of the coaching world who have been a listening ear over the last year.

Lastly, my team. They’ve been understanding, flexible, have listened to the “happy song” more than any of them ever thought possible, and love on Ari whenever he’s around. They have been receptive and compassionate to the fact I am figuring this all out for the first time. And they assure me that they want to see more pictures!

Coaching and parenting isn’t easy. There’s lots of time away from home, missed meal times, bath times, bedtime, swim lessons, and all the little moments in between. There are also the FaceTime calls, the visits to campus and practice, post-game hugs and smiles, post-game locker room hangs, and team meals with your kid at the head of the table making everyone laugh.

Nothing is more humbling than coming home from an overtime win to a dirty diaper. And nothing is more satisfying than coming home to your kid who looks up at you and smiles after a hard loss. At times, I thought sleep deprivation was going to get the best of me. (I learned it won’t.) The team will tell you I am certainly more emotional than I was before. And my coffee intake has certainly increased! (If you know me, you’re wondering, “How is that even possible?!”)

Here are some takeaways from the season: We all need our support systems, whatever that looks like. Meal prep BEFORE the season, and put it in the freezer, but be forgiving when you don’t. Laundry will eventually get done. Find ways every day, even in all of the chaos, to spend time with your kid – they’re only this age once. Set boundaries with your team and recruits, they will understand and respect them. Ask for help when you need it. Bring your kid around the team, it brings out a different side of your players, and shows them a different side of you.

Most of all – enjoy it.

(Photos provided by Lindsey Grundfast.)


Leave a comment